Archive for July 10th, 2008

It’s my FRIDAY!

July 10, 2008

THANK GOD is all I can say!  It’s been (yet again) another rough week at work!  Monday went very smoothly.  I was actually excited for summer school to start.  We spent the day preparing our lesson plans and in meetings.  It was a very laid back day!  That of course was short lived! Once Tuesday arrived literally all hell broke loose.  It started about 10 minutes before school started.  One of my teachers became extremely ill.  I had to call the ambulance.  I felt extremely helpless as there was nothing I could do to help him. He’s since called and is home resting, I’m still not 100% sure what is wrong, but I do know when he left Tuesday he was not well at all.  I hope he is doing much better.  As a result, this now puts us ONCE AGAIN, a teacher down.  What does this mean?  Well between 3 of us we have 16 classes to cover.  On Tuesday, I had a couple interviews scheduled for our open position for fall.  So this means all 16 classes had to be covered by my remain 2 teachers.  Needless to say they were exhausted by the end of the day, which I so don’t blame them!  Yesterday, I took on 6 classes.  And let me tell you…talk about frustrating!  It would be one thing if the kids were good.  THEY WERE ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE! It was a friggin nightmare.  And the worst part is the staff with the kids did absolutely NOTHING.  Talk about lazy!!  It’s one thing to have the kids horrible but yet controllable with the support of both staff members with the teams.  But to have 1 staff member completely clueless and doing NOTHING, and 1 staff member trying to keep control and hold each and every kid responsible.  With the type of kids I work with, quite honestly, it is extremely difficult to do.  They were taking advantage of the slightest opportunity to run their mouth, and behave as badly as they could get away with.  Ugghh, it was horrible!  Talk about emotionally & physically draining!  I’m hoping today will be different.  The kids attitudes depends on what staff member is working with them.  If it is a good staff the kids know they can’t get away with much and are as well behaved as they can be.  It is equivalent to having a self contained classroom.  Which with the proper support isn’t too bad, but with no support…all I can say is HOLY CRAP!  Thank god I’m off tomorrow…I have no choice,..I have a dentist appointment and can’t reschedule.  I do feel extremely bad for my remaining 2 teachers though.  Tomorrow will most likely be a rough day…

Sorry This post really turned out nothing like I thought.  I guess I just needed to vent.  It’s going to be 1 hell of a long summer if this crap continues!