This is getting so OLD!

I’ve been MIA the past couple weeks simply because I’m way too tired to write, think, or move for that matter.  I have a problem, I Can’t SLEEP and I don’t know why.  I think I’m slowly developing insomnia. Really, I do not know what the hell is wrong with me.  It’s a vicious cycle, and I so need it to end NOW!  I’m absolutely EXHAUSTED.  I wake up, I’m so tired, I can barely pull myself out of bed.  I think I’ve made it to work on time maybe 2, 3 days tops.  I’m dragging all damn day! I hate it!  I come home from work, and seriously some days, I have all I can do to drive home.  When I get home, I basically feel like I’m crawling to the couch to crash!  I take an hour nap, wake up, do work, maybe watch some tv, then head to bed.  Sleeping pills have become my friend, however THEY DON”T WORK!  I’ve been put on prescription sleeping pills, but seriously…I think my body is immune to them.  I toss and turn for a couple of hours, then when I do fall asleep, I’m restless.  I do not sleep soundly.  I wake up and look like I have had a fight with my bed.  Everything, every morning is on the floor (ie. my comforter, sheets, blankets, pillows) you name it, I’ve kicked or thrown it off the bed.  Last friday I had a doctor’s appointment, he recommended I go for a sleep study.  I dont know how long it will take to get me in.  I have an appointment with a pulminologist (SP?) next week.  I seriously can’t take this much more.  I’m so physically/emotionally drained and exhausted!  All I want to do is sleep, but I CAN”T!

Last night, I had a physical therapy appointment and a shrink appointment, it was a rough one.  No I don’t want to talk about it.  But lets just say I came home and my eyes were burning and swollen.  Again, I was so exhausted, I went to bed around 10pm.  I figured I didn’t need to take a pill to sleep because I was so tired. I get in bed, and my knee is absolutely throbbing/aching/and it is totally keeping me up.  I decided to forego the prescription pills, and take some tylenol pm.  Honestly, that did shit for me.  At 2:30 in the morning, I gave up the fight.  I came out to the couch, and got a little rest on and off.  4:30am wide awake!   All I want is to sleep soundly for 1 night!  I don’t think it is too much to ask.

6 Responses to “This is getting so OLD!”

  1. Dani Says:

    I’ve totally been in that place. You are utterly exhausted but still your body won’t let you just rest. Do you think that any of your medications could be messing up your sleep cycles and keeping you up? I know some of my meds have side effects of sleepiness and sleeplessness. Totally makes sense right?

    Also do you think it’s physical or mentally are you having a hard time shutting down. I know when I used to have troubles sleeping (thanks to pregnancy that isn’t an issue -yet) I would have a hard time decompressing at the end of the day. So I would grab a book and read something fluffy for 15 minutes every night right before sleep and it would really help me disengage from whatever I’d been thinking about and sleep.

    Sorry I don’t have any better answers. Hope you get there soon though, I know how tough it is to be exhausted all the time. Hugs!

  2. Kellie Says:

    I think the sleep study is a great idea. Maybe there’s an underlying sleep disorder OR it could be your mind is just too keyed up to let you sleep.

    I agree with Dani–maybe one of your meds has a sleeplessness effect. It may be a matter of shifting when you take them.

    Wish I could help you. Let me know if you need anything 🙂

  3. Ashley Says:

    That sounds just awful you poor thing. If I don’t get 8 hours a night I am in a bad way so I can’t imagine what you are going through. Hopefully the sleep study will help. Big hug!

  4. Katie Says:

    Gosh, I’m so sorry to hear all that. I don’t really have any advice for you……but I do hope everything gets better very soon!

  5. Cindi Says:

    Im really sorry for you not getting really really good rest. I really have never had this happen to me so Im not sure what to say. But I do know I would really not be happy if I could not sleep. Im sorry. ;-(

  6. Angie Says:

    You poor thing…..I really need to spend more time reading everybodys blogs!!!!! I hope things are going better for you???? I would definetly do the sleep study!!!!

Leave a Reply

